Submit a preprint

512

Spatial heterogeneity of interaction strength has contrasting effects on synchrony and stability in trophic metacommunitiesuse asterix (*) to get italics
Pierre Quévreux, Bart Haegeman and Michel LoreauPlease use the format "First name initials family name" as in "Marie S. Curie, Niels H. D. Bohr, Albert Einstein, John R. R. Tolkien, Donna T. Strickland"
2023
<p>&nbsp;Spatial heterogeneity is a fundamental feature of ecosystems, and ecologists have identified it as a factor promoting the stability of population dynamics. In particular, differences in interaction strengths and resource supply between patches generates an asymmetry of biomass turnover with a fast and a slow patch. The coupling of these two energy channels by mobile predators has been identified to increase stability at different scales by promoting the asynchrony of population dynamics between each patch. Here, we demonstrate that asymmetry has a contrasting effect on the stability of metacommunities receiving localised perturbations. We built a model of an asymmetric metacommunity with two patches linked by the dispersal of predators and in which prey receive stochastic perturbations only in one patch. Perturbing prey in the fast patch synchronises the dynamics of prey biomass between the two patches and destabilises predator dynamics by increasing their temporal variability. Conversely, perturbing prey in the slow patch decreases the synchrony of their dynamics and stabilises predator dynamics. This discrepancy between the responses is due to the asymmetric transmission of perturbations caused by the different distributions of biomass between the fast and the slow patch. Consequently, the fast patch drives the dynamics of the metacommunity and imposes synchrony while the slow patch does not. Therefore, local perturbations can have opposite consequences at the regional scale depending on the characteristics of the perturbed patch. Our results have strong implications for conservation ecology and suggest reinforcing protection policies in fast patches to dampen the effects of perturbations and promote the stability of population dynamics at the regional scale.&nbsp;</p>
You should fill this box only if you chose 'All or part of the results presented in this preprint are based on data'. URL must start with http:// or https://
You should fill this box only if you chose 'Scripts were used to obtain or analyze the results'. URL must start with http:// or https://
https://github.com/PierreQuevreux/model_metacommunity_spatial_heterogeneityYou should fill this box only if you chose 'Codes have been used in this study'. URL must start with http:// or https://
source-sink, stochastic perturbations, food chain, dispersal, asymmetry, conservation
Dispersal & Migration, Food webs, Interaction networks, Spatial ecology, Metacommunities & Metapopulations, Theoretical ecology
Frédéric Guichard fred.guichard@mcgill.ca, Justin Marleau ​justin.marleau@mcgill.ca, Niel Rooney nrooney@uoguelph.ca, Emanuel Fronhofer emanuel.fronhofer@umontpellier.fr, Barbara Drossel barbara.drossel@tu-darmstadt.de, Nicolas Loeuille nicolas.loeuille@sorbonne-universite.fr, David Garcia-Callejas david.garcia.callejas@gmail.com, Fernanda Valdovinos fvaldovinos@ucdavis.edu, François Massol francois.massol@univ-lille.fr, Javier Jarillo javier.jarillodiaz@unamur.be No need for them to be recommenders of PCIEcology. Please do not suggest reviewers for whom there might be a conflict of interest. Reviewers are not allowed to review preprints written by close colleagues (with whom they have published in the last four years, with whom they have received joint funding in the last four years, or with whom they are currently writing a manuscript, or submitting a grant proposal), or by family members, friends, or anyone for whom bias might affect the nature of the review - see the code of conduct
Élisa Thébault, José Montoya, Matthieu Barbiere.g. John Doe [john@doe.com]
2022-10-26 13:38:34
Werner Ulrich